Skip to content

We Do Not Sew

My kid is in first grade. Last month, she came home with a research project: Pick an ocean animal, find some facts about it, and then do a visual project.

Most kids picked things like sea turtles or bottlenose dolphins.

Not my kid.

My daughter chose the goblin shark, the most terrifying creature in the entire freaking ocean.

goblin-shark-jaw.ngsversion.1445013254494
Cute, huh?

And the visual project?

I suggested a diorama. My husband – the chemistry teacher – suggested a baking soda and vinegar volcano. (I think he was joking.)

Nope. She wanted to make a stuffed goblin shark.

This was a bit of a challenge for me because, like House Greyjoy in Game of Thrones, I Do Not Sew. I don’t have a sewing machine, and I can barely tell one end of a needle from another.

But not knowing how to do something has never stopped me before, so I gave it my best shot! The kid traced a goblin shark on some felt, and I stitched it together.

fullsizeoutput_11e5

I think it turned out okay.

Photo on 5-29-17 at 4.49 PM

Cute, even..?

Like what you’ve read? Subscribe to my newsletter for updates, teasers, and free stories!

Leave a Reply

