My Political Post: Shall Not Perish 2017

Friends, I know this inauguration feels like a dark day to many of us.

It feels like a dark day to me, and I’m straight, white, and middle class. I can only imagine what my LGBT or minority friends are feeling right now.

But I’m not going to go into the many, many reasons why I am so deeply afraid.

Instead, I’m going to tell you what happened this weekend. I was in the grocery store with my six-year-old daughter, and we saw a black woman wearing a headscarf. My daughter grabbed my arm and said, “Mom, is that one of the people Donald Trump wants to get rid of?”

I said, “If he tries, honey, a lot of people are going to make that very difficult.”

My daughter nodded and said, “We’ll protect her, right, Mom?”

And I said…

“Yes. Yes, we will.”

It’s easy to feel powerless in the face of enormous political forces, not to mention ignorance and hatred.

But I’m determined to do what I can. I’m invested in this stupid world, after all – I live here! And what’s more, I believe in democracy. I believe in a country that holds these truths to be self-evident, that all human beings are created equal and endowed by their creator with certain inalienable rights.

And when future generations look back on the election of Donald J. Trump and whatever came after, I’d like the record to show I fought his hatred, racism, xenophobia, sexism, and blatant disregard of our environment from day one.

In that spirit I’m taking action.

First and most immediately, I’m taking my children to the Sister March in Portland, Maine tomorrow morning. We can’t make the drive to DC to participate in the Women’s March, so we’re doing to next best thing. And hell yeah I’m taking the kids – I want to show them what democracy looks like.

It’s not what I wanted to show them.

I wanted to wake my children on the morning of November 9th and tell them love triumphed over hatred, America rejected a message of fear and ignorance, and history moves forward.

Instead, I’m telling my children that, 241 years later, we’re still trying to reach the lofty ideals of the Declaration of Independence. Equality is still a struggle, and freedom depends on the concentrated efforts of citizens.

To continue the fight after the march, I’ve joined Shall Not Perish 2017, a group of people across the US who’ve committed to a letter writing campaign to their US Senators. Every week we’ll write a letter on the same topic and (hopefully!) help to negate some of the coming damage.

These are small steps, of course…but aren’t they all?

If you’re interested in joining us, I’ll bet there’s a Sister March near you.

And you can check out the signup form for Shall Not Perish here. US residents only, please.

Like what you’ve read? Subscribe to my newsletter for updates, teasers, and free stories!

4 comments

  1. Easy to just tune out a world where a megalomaniac idiot is the President, I need encouragement to keep fighting for what is right so thank you for not being afraid to stand up and state your opinions! 2016 politically shocked and saddened me to my core! Glad for a suggestion of something I can do like Shall not Perish!Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

