Book Review: Cover Him With Darkness by Janine Ashbless

I. Love. This. Book.

fullsizeoutput_f39
Loved it so much I bought the paperback, yo.

In my review of Ashbless’s excellent novel Summer Seduction, I wrote about her amazing sex scenes, her flawed, fascinating, believable characters, and her gleeful disregard of romance novel troupes.

Well, Cover Him With Darkness has all that times one million.

This novel tells the story of Milja, the daughter of a village priest in Serbia. There’s a cave beneath their small, mountainside church, and in that cave there’s a naked, chained prisoner who looks like a man but most certainly is not…

Think you know where this is going?

Trust me, you don’t.

Nope-GIF
No, you don’t.

Cover Him With Darkness is one hell of a wild, sexy ride. This book has more twists than a corkscrew, and none of them felt artificial.

Ashbless takes us from the high mountains of central Europe to Boston to Burning Man, and she’s such an excellent writer that I truly mean “takes us.” I could feel the sand of the Nevada desert beneath bare feet and the chop of the waves on the Mediterranean. To say nothing of the intense, erotic, and imaginative sex…

And somewhere along the way, between the dozens of plot twists and the Kindle-melting erotica, this novel raises some enormous questions: What does it mean to love someone? What loyalty do we owe family, tradition, and the pull of our own hearts? How shall we balance compassion with justice?

Damn, if Dostoevsky wrote smolderingly hot erotica about fallen angels, he’d be Janine Ashbless.

This sexy story twisted my preconceptions so much that, by the time the most infamous Fallen Angel made his presence known, I wasn’t even certain which side I was rooting for.

But one thing is damn sure.

I can’t wait to find out what happens next!

Shut-up-and-take-my-money
The sequel comes out in March of 2017!!!

Check out Cover Him With Darkness here, and then cancel your plans for the rest of the day.

Like what you’ve read? Subscribe to my newsletter for updates, teasers, and free stories!

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

