Book Review: Destroyer of Light by Rachel Alexander

I loved Rachel Alexander’s first book, Receiver of Many, so freaking much she could’ve charged $40 for this sequel. I would have paid it. Happily.

Yes, her first book is that damn good.

And I’m happy to report I loved the sequel just as much.

Plot remains a strong point of these novels. There were a few things I saw coming – a bad guy who needs to be stopped, the seeds of a certain fruit which are pretty damn crucial to the myth. But overall, this book kept me up way too late (again!) because I cared so much about her characters and, while I may have known roughly where they were going to end up, I had no idea how they were going to get there.

Rachel Alexander also continues to delightfully ignore the romance genre’s conventions. I recently read that Diana Gabaldon, author of the Outlander series, claims all romance novels are courtship stories. When there’s a marriage, she apparently said, the romance ends.

I’m guessing Diana Gabaldon hasn’t read Rachel Alexander, because these are romantic, erotic love stories about what comes after the marriage.

If Receiver of Many was about Hades and Persephone learning to live with each other as equal, loving partners, then perhaps Destroyer of Light is about the King and Queen of the Underworld learning to live with the rest of the world.

Hades and Persephone become a bit less human in this book, but their struggles – to trust one another, to work things out with the in-laws, to deal with temptations – remain relatable and deeply moving. Even the secondary characters, like Thanatos and Demeter, grow, deepen, and change during the course of the novel.

There was even one scene that had me crying tears on the Kindle. Yes, actual tears.

And apparently there’s a third book in the works. Which I will be ordering the second it comes out.

Shut-up-and-take-my-money

You can check out Destroyer of Light here.

Like what you’ve read? Subscribe to my newsletter for updates, teasers, and free stories!

Leave a Reply

