Skip to content

Book Review: Loki, Nine Naughty Tales of the Trickster

This is a book about Loki.

I have a bit of a thing for Loki (see: this. This. Also, this). Ergo, this review is going to be skewed by my tendency to be reduced to an absolute screaming fangirl whenever Loki comes up.

fangirling
Did someone say LOKI?!?

Having said that, I had a blast with this little book.

The author, Mike Vasich, did a great job capturing Loki’s personality. And, as someone who knows the original Norse myths pretty well (as in, I literally have a Master’s degree in religion and I teach a class about Norse myth), I had a lot of fun seeing what he did with the source material.

Could you read this book even if you knew nothing about Norse myths? Absolutely. It’s easy to follow what’s going on, even if you don’t already know the myth of Thrym’s wedding.

I’ve only got two complaints about this fun little collection, and one of them is that I wanted more Loki. 

I want more

Vasich starts the story of Thrym’s wedding in the middle of the wedding. I wanted more! I wanted to see how Thor and Loki got there in the first place. And he doesn’t go into bloody, lip-sewing details with the dwarves Brokk and Eitri – again, I wanted more!

I also wanted more when it came to the sex. Yes, these stories are naughty – but I write erotica, so I suppose my “naughty” bar is set pretty high.

loki wink
Naughty, you say?

But ultimately, I’m not going to hold this against Vasich or the book because, like I said, I’m a crazy screaming fangirl.

My second complaint is this: The book’s chronology is a total mess. Vasich, to his credit, openly admits this, and he makes a good point – the chronology of the original Norse myths is also a total mess.

But the messed up chronology makes this fun book more confusing than it should be, and I’m going to give it four stars (out of five) because it really wouldn’t be that hard to re-arrange the stories so the time line made sense. (If you’re reading, Mike Vasich, send me a text. I’ve got some ideas.)

Still, overall this book was a fun ride. Check it out for yourself here.

Like what you’ve read? Subscribe to my newsletter for updates, teasers, and free stories!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Loki, Nine Naughty Tales of the Trickster Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

