Book Review: The Playground by Phoebe Alexander

Well, I enjoyed the hell out of this book.

Journey West (yes, that’s her real name) is a 40-something, chubby, grade school teacher. Her twin sons have just moved off to college, and her husband is somewhat lacking in the sex drive department.

So she she tries swinging! I mean, naturally, right?

This book was a great ride. The writing was hilarious, the characters were all deeply – sometimes painfully – believable, the plot kept me guessing, and the love story was touching and realistic.

Oh yeah, and did I mention hot?

Now, in my experience, “believable” doesn’t necessarily go hand-in-hand with “sexy,” but Phoebe Alexander pulls it off. Actually, reading about a 40-something, chubby school teacher getting it on, and loving it, was incredibly sexy. You go, Journey!

There was one male character whose sexiness and sweetness strained the limits of credibility but, after thoughtful consideration, I’m not going to hold that against the book, because I would really like for him to be real. (John, if you’re out there, text me.)

It’s also worth noting that you don’t have to be a swinger to like this book. I got a kick out of it, and I learned I’m “vanilla.” (Which is apparently swinger lingo for “not a swinger.”)

So, if you’re looking for some sexy, funny confirmation that life doesn’t end after 40 – check out The Playground!

Thank you, Phoebe Alexander, for sending me a copy of your novel in exchange for an honest review! I honesty thought it was awesome. 

Interested? You’ll find it here!

 

 

Leave a Reply

