300 Days, 1 Ring

I wrote a 300-word fantasy flash fiction to celebrate having 300 Twitter followers. Enjoy! 

“It’s been three hundred days.”

“Is that so?” The old man behind the counter nodded. He’d seen this before, oh, yes. Seen it many times.

“Well, and one night,” the young man added, blushing slightly. As they always did. They were often handsome, and always nervous, the young men who came to this particular shop.

The old man leaned back and smiled. Behind him were rows and rows of wooden cabinets, cabinets with drawers and gleaming brass knobs. No two drawers were the same size. There were no labels, there had never been any labels, and that mattered naught. The old man knew their contents as well as he knew his own self, his hopes and his dreams, his childhood desires.

“So you’ll be wanting a ring, then?”

The young man nodded. His eyes flashed, fear mixed with desire. The old man had seen it before. Heavens yes, he’d seen it before.

“Well, we’ve got plenty of those. Magic rings, you know. Turn you invisible. Make you fly.”

The young man shook his head. “No, nothing quite like that.”

“Valuable, perhaps? I’ve got rings worth more than kingdoms. Rings of myth and legend, rings of cloud and wind.”

The young man’s forehead knotted as he thought. Somewhere in the dusty recesses of the shop an ancient clock ticked away the minutes. “That’s still not exactly right,” he said, running his fingers through his dark hair.

“Well then, m’boy, what are you looking for?”

“Do you have – I don’t know,” he stammered, shaking his head. “I just want her to know I think of her. Even when I’m trying not to. I… I can’t stop thinking about her.”

“Oh, yes. Yes, I see.” The old man’s eyes sparkled as he reached for one of the drawers, a small drawer, high above the counter. “I believe I have just what you’ll be wanting.”

This was a blast – I can’t wait to write 400 words to celebrate 400 followers!

Like what you’ve read? Subscribe to my newsletter for updates, teasers, and free stories!

One comment

Leave a Reply

